NSW takes Game 3 in a nail biter 18-14 over Queensland

NSW won the final game of the 2016 State of Origin series in Sydney tonight. The win gives NSW an air of confidence leading up to the 2017 State of Origin series next year.

Laurie Daley all but gave up hope in the final minutes leaving the coaches box and walking down the tunnel when he heard the Sydney crowd roar as Michael Jennings crashed through attempted tackles from veteran Origin players in Thurston and Cronk to score the winning try in the final minute of the game.

In a memorable game for Paul Gallen, Gal added the final 2 points kicking the try conversion to go to a 1 from 1, 100% kicking record, to add to his final State of Origin stats to leave the game in a semi fairy tale ending to his Origin career.


Farewell Gal and thanks for the memories

NSW coach Laurie Daley hopes to farewell captain Paul Gallen on a high, the 24-cap veteran playing in his last Origin.

Eight players will have made their debut for the Blues in 2016, including James Tedesco and Wade Graham who will experience Origin for the first time.

QLD beat NSW again in Game 2 and take out the series in Brisbane.

Its a familiar story with Queensland beating NSW over the past 10 years and something needs to change.

It seems increasingly obvious that player selection is critical if NSW are to win the next series.

If all players are available in 2017 the new look 20 man blues squad I would like to see take the field is:

  1. Brett Morris (debut 2010)
  2. Matt Moylan (debut 2013)
  3. Josh Dugan (debut 2011)
  4. Josh Morris (debut 2009)
  5. James Tedesco (on debut)
  6. James Maloney (debut 2013)
  7. Mitchell Pierce
  8. Aaron Woods (debut 2013)
  9. Michael Ennis (c) (debut 2009)
  10. Boyd Cordner (debut 2013)
  11. Tyson Frizell (debut 2016)
  12. Josh Jackson (debut 2015)
  13. Jack Bird (debut 2016)
  14. David Klemmer (debut 2015)
  15. Andrew Fifita (debut 2013)
  16. Bryce Cartwright (on debut)


Josh Dugan out Josh Morris in for NSW

Josh Dugan out of Origin 1 with an elbow injury replaced by Canterbury Bulldogs and NSW Blues veteran Josh Morris.

Morris has proved before he has what it takes to contain Queensland legend Greg Inglis and will be a welcome addition to the 2016 NSW Blues on Wednesday.